Fazıl Say (Foto: Marco Borggreve)
Season 2022/23

Fazıl Say

Piano / *1970 Ankara

Whether he is performing as a Mozart soloist or interpreting his own compositions, a concert with Fazıl Say will always go straight to the heart. In the 2022/23 season you will have the opportunity to experience him as a Focus Artist (Fokus-Künstler).

Fazıl Say is one of the most sought-after classical pianists of our time. There is scarcely a renowned concert hall in Europe in which he has not yet performed. The multi-award-winning musician interprets works ranging from Bach to Gershwin as well as his own compositions with an incomparable stage presence. However, his own heart does not belong solely to classical music. As a composer, he combines classical ideas with jazz and Turkish folk songs.

Discovered in Ankara

Born in Ankara in 1970, Say now lives in Istanbul. He began playing the piano at the age of four and was already considered a wunderkind by the time he was 15. David Levine and Aribert Reimann became aware of him at a workshop given in his native city of Ankara. Levine subsequently became his piano teacher at the Robert-Schumann-Hochschule Düsseldorf; Say later continued his studies in Berlin. In 1994, he won the Young Concert Artists International Auditions in New York. This marked the beginning of his career – initially in the United States – before he went on to achieve international fame.

Critical mind

Fazıl Say uses his influence to raise awareness of injustices in his homeland. In 2012, his tweets criticising Islam resulted in a court case in Turkey. He was ultimately acquitted in 2015. Say also records current social events in musical form, as in the first three of his works entitled «Gezi Park 1 to 3».

Compositional bridge building

This season, Fazıl Say can be experienced as a composer of piano and chamber music. Written for a small formation of piano and voice, his music merges traditional elements with contemporary expression. In «İlk Şarkılar» he combines traditional movement models with sounds derived from folk and post-romantic music. He sets poems taken from Turkish literature to music, thus establishing a new relationship between the sister arts of poetry and music. His piano piece entitled «Black Earth» is an adaptation of Anatolian folk songs. Be it with his own compositions or his thrilling interpretations, Fazıl Say presents himself as an exceptional artist whose concerts are always guaranteed to be multi-faceted and exciting.

November 2022
Sat 12. Nov
20.00

Gastspiel – Residenz Hamburg

Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Paavo Järvi Music Director, Fazıl Say Klavier Pärt, Mozart, Bruckner
March 2023
Wed 22. Mar
19.30

Fazil Say spielt Mozart

Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Paavo Järvi Music Director, Fazıl Say Klavier Mozart, Strauss
Thu 23. Mar
19.30

Fazil Say spielt Mozart

Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Paavo Järvi Music Director, Fazıl Say Klavier Mozart, Strauss
April
Sun 02. Apr
17.00

Kosmos Kammermusik – Fazil Say

Fazıl Say Klavier, Serenad Bağcan Gesang Say
We thank our partners

Fazıl Say (Foto: Marco Borggreve)
Saison 2022/23

Fazıl Say

Klavier / *1970 Ankara

Ob als Mozart-Solist oder als Interpret eigener Kompositionen: Die Konzerte mit Fazıl Say treffen stets mitten ins Herz. In der Saison 2022/23 können Sie ihn als Fokus-Künstler in unseren Konzerten erleben.

Fazıl Say zählt heute zu den gefragtesten Pianist*innen der klassischen Musik. Es gibt kaum ein namhaftes Konzerthaus in Europa, in dem er noch nicht aufgetreten ist. Der mehrfach ausgezeichnete Musiker interpretiert Werke von Bach bis Gershwin sowie seine eigenen Werke mit unvergleichlicher Bühnenpräsenz. Sein eigenes Herz gehört nicht nur der Klassik alleine. Als Komponist verbindet er klassische Ideen mit Jazz und türkischen Volksweisen.

Entdeckung in Ankara

1970 in Ankara geboren lebt er heute in Istanbul. Im Alter von vier Jahren begann er mit dem Klavierspiel und galt schon mit 15 Jahren als Wunderkind. In einem Workshop in seiner Geburtsstadt Ankara wurden David Levine und Aribert Reimann auf ihn aufmerksam. Levine wurde an der Robert-Schumann-Hochschule Düsseldorf sein Klavierdozent. Später setzte er sein Studium in Berlin fort. 1994 gewann er die «Young Concert Artists International Auditions» in New York. Das war der Auftakt für seine Karriere – zunächst in den USA, bevor er international bekannt wurde.

Kritischer Geist

Seine Reichweite nutzt Fazıl Say, um auf Ungerechtigkeiten in seinem Heimatland aufmerksam zu machen. Seine islamkritischen Tweets hatten 2012 eine Gerichtsverhandlung in der Türkei zur Folge. 2015 wurde er schliesslich freigesprochen. Auch in musikalischer Form hält er aktuelle gesellschaftliche Geschehnisse fest, wie mit seinen Werken «Gezi Park» 1 bis 3.

Kompositorischer Brückenschlag

Als Komponist wird Fazıl Say in dieser Saison mit Klavier- und Kammermusik zu erleben sein. In kleiner Besetzung für Klavier und Gesang vereint er in seiner Musik traditionelle Elemente mit aktuellem Ausdruck. In «İlk Şarkılar» vereint er traditionelle Satzmodelle mit volksmusikalischen und postromantischen Klängen. Dabei vertont er Gedichte der türkischen Literatur und setzt die Schwesternkünste der Poesie und Musik in ein neues Verhältnis. Auch in seinem Klavierstück «Black Earth» adaptiert er anatolische Volkslieder. Ob mit eigenen Kompositionen oder seinen mitreissenden Interpretationen präsentiert sich Fazıl Say als Ausnahmekünstler, der vielfältige und aufregende Konzerte garantiert.

Text: Giulio Biaggini und Luca Leonetti

März 2023
Mi 22. Mrz
19.30 Uhr

Fazil Say spielt Mozart

Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Paavo Järvi Music Director, Fazıl Say Klavier Mozart, Strauss
Do 23. Mrz
19.30 Uhr

Fazil Say spielt Mozart

Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Paavo Järvi Music Director, Fazıl Say Klavier Mozart, Strauss
April
So 02. Apr
17.00 Uhr

Kosmos Kammermusik – Fazil Say

Fazıl Say Klavier, Serenad Bağcan Gesang Say
November 2022
Sa 12. Nov
20.00 Uhr

Gastspiel – Residenz Hamburg

Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Paavo Järvi Music Director, Fazıl Say Klavier Pärt, Mozart, Bruckner
Wir danken unseren Partnern