Arvo Pärt

* 1935 | Estonia

Composer Arvo Pärt is indissolubly linked with the musical history of the 20th and 21st centuries, which he himself has been writing for many decades. In a time of ever-greater complexity in all areas of life, his music teaches us to listen with fresh ears to sounds that are apparently simple. These might be a triad, a scale, or even silence: «Silence is like fertile soil waiting for our creative act – our seeds,» as Pärt puts it. In his works, silence acquires a new quality, becoming a source of contemplation and something to be heard in its own right.

In Pärt’s work, the music emerging from that silence is almost ascetically condensed: «A cosmic secret is concealed behind the art of combining two or three tones with one another.» Arvo Pärt embarked on a quest to find that secret. He found it in his unmistakeable «tintinnabuli» style – composition on the basis of just two inextricably intertwined melodic lines. In the 1970s, having arrived at a dead end as a pioneer of the avant-garde, he developed his musical idiom during eight years of seclusion. In other words, he returned to the simple melody, to the «naked voice that is the source of all else.»

This idea stems from the fact that in many examples of Pärt’s music a text is associated with the composition – either sung or merely imagined. In many instrumental works, texts also serve not only as inspiration, but as the basis of his compositional process and melodies. Or they refer to Arvo Pärt’s profound faith. Pärt the monk, the mystic. That too is an aspect of his compositions. His music moves people in a very profound, spiritual way – regardless of their creed.

Another special feature of Arvo Pärt’s work is that he re-evaluates his compositions, constantly rewriting them – be it for new combinations of instruments, specific musicians, or special occasions. The number of tonal possibilities offered by one and the same sequence of sounds is awe-inspiring.

Mediaeval and modern; reclusive yet capable of reconciling different worlds; almost no music at all; and yet so much more. Arvo Pärt’s works demonstrate just how complex simplicity can sometimes be.

ARVO PÄRT CENTRE

Credit To Customer Account
The New Tchaikovsky CD
Concert Streaming
We thank our partners
Newsletter
Our orchestra newsletter keeps you up to date.

Arvo Pärt

* 1935 | Estland

Der Komponist Arvo Pärt gehört untrennbar zur Musikgeschichte des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, er selbst schreibt sie seit vielen Jahrzehnten mit. In einer Zeit der immer grösseren Komplexität in allen Lebensbereichen lehrt seine Musik, scheinbar Einfaches neu zu hören. Das kann ein Dreiklang sein, eine Tonleiter oder auch Stille: «Stille ist wie ein fruchtbarer Boden, der auf unseren schöpferischen Akt, unsere Saat wartet», so Pärt. In seinen Werken erlangt die Stille eine neue Qualität, sie wird zur Besinnung, zum Hineinhorchen.

Tritt aus dieser Stille dann die Musik hervor, ist sie bei Pärt geradezu asketisch reduziert: «Hinter der Kunst, zwei, drei Töne miteinander zu verbinden, liegt ein kosmisches Geheimnis verborgen.» Danach hat Arvo Pärt gesucht. Gefunden hat er es in seinem unverkennbaren «Tintinnabuli»-Stil, dem Komponieren auf der Basis von nur zwei Melodielinien, die untrennbar miteinander verwachsen sind. In den 1970er-Jahren hat er in acht Jahren der Abgeschiedenheit seine musikalische Sprache entwickelt, nachdem er als Vorreiter der Avantgarde an einen toten Punkt gekommen war. Zurück also zur einfachen Melodie, zur «nackten Stimme, die die Quelle alles anderen ist».

Mit dieser Idee verbunden ist, dass zu seiner Musik in vielen Fällen auch ein Text gehört, gesungen oder nur mitgedacht. Auch in Instrumentalstücken ist er nicht nur Inspiration, sondern konkrete musikalische Grundlage für die Längen und Kürzen, für die Abschnitte der Melodie. Oder er spricht von Arvo Pärts tiefem Glauben. Pärt, der Mönch, der Mystiker. Auch das ist eine Seite seines Komponierens. Seine Musik bewegt die Menschen auf sehr tiefe, spirituelle Weise – unabhängig von konfessionellen Bekenntnissen.

Eine andere Besonderheit seines Komponierens ist das Neu-Denken: Arvo Pärt schreibt seine Werke immer wieder um, für neue Besetzungen, bestimmt Musikerinnern und Musiker oder besondere Anlässe. Es ist beeindruckend, wie viele Klangmöglichkeiten in ein und derselben Tonfolge liegen.

Mittelalterlich und modern, zurückgezogen und weltenvereinend, fast noch keine Musik und doch so viel mehr: Arvo Pärts Werke zeigen, wie komplex Einfachheit manchmal sein kann.

ARVO PÄRT CENTRE

Konzertstreaming
Monatskalender zum Sammeln
Abos
Paavo Järvi – Music Director
Arvo Pärt – Creative Chair 2020/21
Im Fokus 2020/21
Beethoven-Zyklus I und II
Filmmusikkonzerte 2020/21
Schutzkonzept
Die Liebhaberaktie
Schülermanager gesucht
Idagio – Streamen Sie Ihre Lieblingsmusik
Wir danken unseren Partnern
Newsletter
Unser Orchester-Newsletter hält Sie auf dem Laufenden.